+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Twelevers' Book Review

  1. #1
    Nitefyre's Avatar
    Nitefyre is offline Super Moderator TwelevePlus
    Tweleve Cleric
    Gold
    Nitefyre is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In my head
    Posts
    403

    Default Twelevers' Book Review

    Please post your review of your free book here. Be sure to include stuff like quality, style, reading difficulty, etc. Thanks!!

  2. #2
    shecrab's Avatar
    shecrab is offline Expert Twelever TwelevePlus
    Emerald
    shecrab will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,795

    Default Oracle Review )NO SPOILERS(

    Review of The Oracle, Lost in Time:

    I received my book the other day, with only a minor ding on one edge, and signed, as per the offer. I waited under two weeks for my copy.

    I spent a couple of days reading and poring over the illustrations. The story is fairly straightforward: two children climb inside their scientist father's "time machine" and bounce around the cosmos past and future for a few times before settling back home again, safe and sound. The puzzle solution is a ten-digit number, split into four and six digits; presumably, once this is found, one will know what sort of number it is--a password, an IP address, a phone number--something. There doesn't seem to be anything cluttering up the clues--they're all in the illustrations and the text, though internet research into politics, religion and science will definitely be called for. As the beginning poem states, each picture contains a truth and a lie--and it's up to you to figure these out, and find the hidden information you need.

    I liked that the story was uncomplicated. The illustrations, as well, are not overdone. They are decently drawn paintings with wooden borders that contain fragments of sayings, adages, and poems--these are clues, of course, as well as some of the strange objects in the pictures. The text is lively, well-written, and also uncluttered, and the story is cleverly put together.

    I think this is a relatively straightforward puzzle, uncomplicated by past solves, or misspelt words--and I'm really looking forward to working on it. After dealing with The Alchemist Dar, it ought to be a welcome relief.

    Thank you, Pete Wilder, for the offer--and the puzzle!

    Christin
    Visit my web site: http://christinkeck.webs.com
    CK or as they say in Spain, "Yes, What?"

  3. #3
    rdshackleford's Avatar
    rdshackleford is offline Expert Twelever TwelevePlus
    Emerald
    rdshackleford is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Traveling in a fried out combie.
    Posts
    1,833

    Default

    My copy has a ding on the edge also. I could care less, but since you mentioned it, I wondered about this and the book/printing industry. Do the publishers give the scratch & dent copies to the author as freebies to give out?

    The idea of publishing a novel is very cool, I think. I always fantasize of trying to write a fiction novel after I burn myself out on my current career of writing software. The lifestyle is attractive in many ways.

    -Rusty

    It's not a place, it's a yearning. It's not a race, it's a journey.

  4. #4
    liviasmimi's Avatar
    liviasmimi is offline Keyboard Proficient TwelevePlus
    Benitoite
    liviasmimi will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    tulseytown
    Posts
    4,530

    Default

    My book came in perfect shape !
    What a wonderful story that takes one to all parts of History and science..
    I am very excited to start tearing this thing down to find the "clues"
    the book is well written and cohesive and the kids enjoyed the story when i read it to them ....GOOD JOB, Thank You, Peter!



  5. #5
    shecrab's Avatar
    shecrab is offline Expert Twelever TwelevePlus
    Emerald
    shecrab will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,795

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rdshackleford
    My copy has a ding on the edge also.  I could care less, but since  you mentioned it, I wondered about this and the book/printing industry.  Do the publishers give the scratch & dent copies to the author as freebies to give out?  

    The idea of publishing a novel is very cool, I think.  I always fantasize of trying to write a fiction novel after I burn myself out on my current career of writing software.  The lifestyle is attractive in many ways.

    -Rusty
    Well, it's not all that attractive, Rusty...trust me.....

    I wrote two novels this year. Before I can even send them out to publishers, I have to vet them---make sure the spelling, grammar and continuity is impeccable; then edit for mistakes in plotting, names, etc.; then make sure the page numbers on the manuscript are continuous (harder than you think) then try to find a literary agent, because there ARE NO PUBLISHERS who will accept manuscripts to read anymore; then WAIT AND WAIT AND WAIT for someone to get back to me, then spend a lot of spare cash sending out "packets" to agents and publishing companies.....

    ....attractive, huh?

    Doesn't stop me from working on book #3 and #4, however.

    Nor does it stop me from wasting every precious spare moment on Dar and the Oracle, from trying to get a perfect score in Yoshi's Island for GBA, and watching two movies a week, either.

    I never understood how someone could say they were bored. I never am.
    I need a clone.

    ck
    Visit my web site: http://christinkeck.webs.com
    CK or as they say in Spain, "Yes, What?"

  6. #6
    hollidaze39's Avatar
    hollidaze39 is offline Community Guru TwelevePlus
    Benitoite
    hollidaze39 will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    New York!
    Posts
    5,035

    Default

    my book was also in great shape...no probs there...

    i think this story is one trip we all thought about at one time or another in our life...being able to see wonderous new things...learn a "new" word! heheh the story was amazing in itself...and im glad they got back home.. phew* the pictures do remind me of science alot...when i actually liked it..lol...very well written! will prolly read it again...and still discovering new things in the pictures...very cool ! thanks peter!!
    www.etsy.com/shop/DazeDesigns
    ((((((((twelevepeeps)))))))))

  7. #7
    gabi's Avatar
    gabi is offline Master Twelever TwelevePlus
    Ruby
    gabi will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,470

    Default Review

    The Oracle is a nice hardcover book. The copy I got, signed by the author, was in perfect shape.
    There are three different parts in The Oracle. First one can find the story of two brothers traveling through time and space, it is a good balance of science fiction, history and science, easy to read, fun and entertaining.
    Then the illustrations, these are a good summary of what is/was there at the different places at the time the brothers visited them. Each illustration contains some truths and some lies that are part of the puzzle to find the treasure.
    Finally, the third part of the book are the poems that accompany each illustration. The poems are interesting as per all the information contained in them, although they tend to slow down the flow of the story.
    Finally there is the treasure part of the book. The clues to the puzzle are hidden in the illustrations according to the poem in the inside flap of the book. At first look most of the illustrations seem to have something that makes you stop and look twice. The fact that some of the clues are apparently easy to find makes one want to try and solve the riddle.
    Thanks for the adventure Pete Wilder !

  8. #8
    Domino's Avatar
    Domino is offline Expert Twelever TwelevePlus
    Sapphire
    Domino is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Could Be Just About Anywhere?
    Posts
    1,642

    Default

    Thank You Pete Wilder.

    To add to what has been said above, and I concur with all, my book too had a small dent on the edge2.5 inches from the top but more curiously was the "fold" on the lower corner of the Schrödinger's cat page. If others have this, it could be we have books from a publishing error; which I in know way mind getting. Also, since I have lived in the past a better part of my days in sunny Florida (where it appears he has traveled with the kids) Disneyland is not there, it is out in Cali. but Disneyworld, well, it is everywhere in Florida...haha. And, I too have a fond memory of Jersey(not often written about) except I was on the Appalachian Trail and missed Mike and Julia's house.

    I like how it appears to be straightforward, written and illustrated inside a riddle of sorts. And when an author/illustrator put the red herring right in the pic, this draws a sly smile from me as well.

    Who is being said "Hi" to in the last pic?

    Again, thank you.
    Lead | Follow | Get Out Of The Way (pick & do))


  9. #9
    hollidaze39's Avatar
    hollidaze39 is offline Community Guru TwelevePlus
    Benitoite
    hollidaze39 will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    New York!
    Posts
    5,035

    Default

    ahhh i do have the fold...hehhehe
    www.etsy.com/shop/DazeDesigns
    ((((((((twelevepeeps)))))))))

  10. #10
    liviasmimi's Avatar
    liviasmimi is offline Keyboard Proficient TwelevePlus
    Benitoite
    liviasmimi will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    tulseytown
    Posts
    4,530

    Default

    i don't!!



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts