+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

Thread: Method to See the Nomenclature cover words

renart is offline Twelever Silver renart is an unknown quantity at this point

Default Method to See the Nomenclature cover words

For Pcalton, Spiderman, and the rest of you...I warn you that this was a very laborious procedure for me - about 20 total hours. The writing on the cover is in red letters that are in script (elven) and are not in straight lines. These are the steps I took.
    !. Scan in the picture into a photoshop program. I am not an expert here, so I tried many different things, mostly altered the contrast, increased the intensity of the red in the adjust hue section and tried to darken the darks. I played with despeckling, and with filters and many other things to try to get a sharper image. You may do just as well just enlarging it to page size and printing it.
    2. This is the part I did not include but hinted at. MJS has inserted extra material veritically in the piece which you have to cover up, like the matching heads in the companion book. I noticed three faint vertical lines, not straight, on the page looking both with the naked eye and then with the magnifier. Find the lines by looking for places where the dots are bunched up or where there are faint white or red lines.
    3. Cut carefully along the lines.
    4. Now darken all the black areas, including the white spaces between the dots.
    5. Do not darken the area close to the red where it gets red speckles.
    6. Watch for letters as you're inking.
    7. Once you've inked it, move the left section slightly over the middle, then the middle over the right section so that some incomplete red areas will fill in. Tape them down with double sided tape.
    8. If you've done this correctly, the word SYSTEMS should be across the whole top. Continue to bring the black areas in close to the letters until you can read the words. I did most of this using a stand magnifying glass.